Posts Tagged ‘Sports’

2017 Bass Pro Tournament of Champions

January 5, 2017

The Republic boys basketball team has been invited to this years Bass Pro Tournament of Champions.  Republic being  winners of the Blue division of the Greenwood  Blue and Gold Tournament will be going up against Sierra Canyon of Chatsworth, California, Thursday January 12, 2017 at 6:30 p.m.   Junior Marvin Bagley III, ESPN’s No. 1-ranked junior in the country is one of the players on this team.  Why is this showing up on the historical society’s web site you may ask.  This is the second time Republic has been invited, so this is history in the making.   If someone  should publish another  Sports Book, (we have LOOKING BACK, A Memoir of Republic Sports 1913-1969, memories are being made  from 1969-2017 ready for another sports book to be published).   Lets all get behind Republic and win this tournament.

The basketball team did their best but came up short.  I will say this group of young men make Republic very  proud.  Ty Stevens took part in the Slam Dunk Contest and did good, was also named to the all-tournament team..  It will go down in history that on January 12, 13, 14, 2017; Treyon Racley (Sr), Hunter Creek (Jr), Trent Rackley (So), Mitchell Coiner (Sr), Ty Stevens (Sr), Devon Ward (Sr), Cameron Doke (Sr), Broc Smith (So), Caleb Singley (Sr), Jeremy Geiger (So), with coaches, head coach  Trevyor Fisher, assistant coaches; Sean Price, Dave Ketterman.  Managers; Chandler Duryea, Dylan Girdley, and Jack Wright, played in the Bass Pro Tournament of Champions.  This group of men showed that Republic is a top ranked team in the Ozarks, and their sportsmanship is the best.

Republic was awarded the Edsel Matthews Sportsmanship Award.  These young people were in front of around 10,000 fans per night, this is a great honor, for the school, parents, teachers, coaches, and the Republic District.

The young ladies in the cheer-leading and pom squads did  fantastic, representing the district in a manner that all should be proud of.

The varsity cheerleaders are; Madison Bateman, Raigan Davis, Kylee Fredrickson, Ella Fry, Amanda Gideon, Allison Gill, Kaylin Glenn, Kyra Holt, Ryleigh Hosp, Haven Lander, Hannah Lee, Jaydra Phouthone-Samms, Alea Robison, Olivia Skeans, Mariah Stanfield, Caitlyn Sturgis, Emilee Sullivan, and Morgan Wojciechowski.

The pom squad members are; Caitlin Calhoun, Katie Groves, Maegen Huyck, Isabel Lopez, Jasey Overholser, Bailey Peabody, Anna Strusz, Karson Thomas, Kayla Warner, and Hadley Wilson.